Skip to content

Birthday Celebration

April 26, 2010

I have no idea why food always has to be in a birthday celebration.  Its my birthday today and all I wanted was for my boyfriend to have a plan to take me out to eat.  Why?  Because I love food.  However, going out to eat for a birthday is common with everyone.  Everyone goes out to eat more than they stay in to cook something for birthdays.  Wouldn’t cooking for someone be more thoughtful?

What ended up happening was hat my boyfriend ended up picking some desserts from Dave’s food market.  As much as I love the thought, the desserts were more than bad.  The lemon curd in the lemon tart was rubbery.  The chocolate cake was dry.  And both desserts had a dollop of weirdly textured whip cream with a glazed cherry on top.

Even though the desserts were more sub par than usual, it really was the thought that counted.  My boyfriend can’t cook, and he doesn’t know how.

So I guess the question is, why is food so important in celebrations, especially birthdays?  Sheet cakes from giant eagle are just as welcomed as a homemade cake, although a homemade cake takes much more time and effort.  I guess it doesn’t matter where the food comes from so long as its there to be shared by everyone.

One Comment leave one →
  1. txk156 permalink
    April 26, 2010 6:51 pm

    Happy Birthday!
    I guess eating delicious food makes us happy. The food-mood connection is really amazing and more profound that we actually think !
    Hope you’re having a great birthday! 🙂

Leave a Reply

